Omega-3/Omega-6

A dietary imbalance between omega-3 and omega-6 fats can lead to an increase of inflammatory substances in the body, which in turn contribute to the development of many modern diseases. The cohesive relationship between good health and providing the body with an optimal amount of essential fatty acids at the cellular level was already clear to Dr. Johanna Budwig at the beginning of the 1950s. "The deficiency in these highly unsaturated fatty acids leads to the paralysis of many vital functions," was a statement frequently made by the scientist.

Daily dose of Omega-3

Depending on age and level of physical activity, a person should consume between 0.5 and 1.5 grams of omega-3 every day. This amount is recommended by the German Society for Nutrition (DGE), the Austrian Society for Nutrition, (ÖGE) and the Swiss Society for Nutrition (SGE) in a common directive (DACH recommendation). However, those who wish to meet these requirements purely through vegetable omega-3 must multiply these values. Most of the amounts recommended are calculated using high-potency omega-3 fatty acids such as EPA and DHA. Approximately only ten percent of the highly potent nutrients can be attained from the breakdown of ALA in the body, therefore the recommended amount must be multiplied tenfold in order to meet the recommended daily dose.

If, for example, flax seed oil is consumed as the sole source of omega-3, then a normal, healthy adult only needs to take in approximately 15 ml (one tablespoon) to reach the daily recommended amount. For pregnant women or people with special health needs, 30 ml (two tablespoons) are sufficient. It is important to know that an exact dosage is not necessary, since any excess flax seed oil is taken up by lipid metabolic processes and where it is used to generate energy.

To date, there have been no indications that fat intake which is high in omega-3 content could be harmful nor are there any known side effects.

However, a general rule states: Total fat consumption should not exceed 30 percent of the daily energy demand.

The breakdown of omega-3 fatty acids

The bodies of humans and animals are able to convert omega-3 fatty acids into other forms. ALA must be absorbed from food and can then be converted via enzymes to EPA and subsequently to DHA. The latter reaction is reversible. In this case metabolic processes establish a healthy equilibrium. Approximately ten percent of ALA absorbed by the human body is enzymatically synthesized first to EPA and then to DHA. During this process, two additional carbon atoms are incorporated into each molecule, extending the carbon chain and introducing several double bonds (dehydration).

The key ratio of fatty acids

For many generations, people have been getting their omega-3 fatty acids from fish, vegetables, nuts, and seeds. Our health literally depends on the regular consumption of the essential omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids, alpha-linolenic acid (ALA) and linoleic acid (LA). Our bodies require these fatty acids in order to synthesize their cell membranes as well as for a variety of metabolic functions


In general, our diets today contain significantly more omega-6 than omega-3 fatty acids.  On average, a realistic ratio is 20:1. Going by nature’s guidelines, however, the proportion of omega-6 to omega-3 fatty acids should be between 2:1 and 5:1. In breast milk, it is as high as 2: 1 to 1: 1. Even prior to the age of large-scale livestock farming and industrial food production- when the uptake of fatty acids was only possible through the consumption of oils, specific vegetables, or fish- the quotient was around 2:1. It is important that omega-6 fatty acids are consumed in the proper amount in relation to omega-3 fatty acids for a number of reasons:


1. Competition for the enzymes

From the omega-3 family, our bodies need ALA as well as EPA and DHA. Of these three members, only ALA must be received through food. Once it has been absorbed, it can be used to synthesize the other two types of fatty acids enzymatically. The problem, however, is that the same enzymes which are responsible for this synthetic process also metabolize omega-6 fatty acids. One could say that the two forms compete for the enzymes. The smaller the ratio of omega-6 to omega-3, the greater the chance becomes that the invaluable cell membrane components EPA and DHA will be synthesized.

 

2. Balanced consequences

Put simply, omega-6 fatty acids are converted into pro-inflammatory substances, whereas products resulting from omega-3 fatty acid synthesis tend to be anti-inflammatory. If both types fatty acids are ingested in the proper proportion to one another, then their respective synthetic products should also be present in well-balanced proportion- an important prerequisite for optimal cellular health. This chemical equilibrium also plays are role in: coronary heart disease, arteriosclerosis, blood clotting, blood pressure development and diabetes, as well as in rheumatic, inflammatory, and allergic reactions.

 

 

The Key to good health

Both an excess in omega-6 fatty acid consumption as well as an insufficient intake of omega-3 fatty acids can lead to disproportionate immune responses such as chronic inflammatory reactions. Both cases result from an increase in the production of hormone-like substances, such as prostaglandins, prostacyclin, thromboxane, and leukotrienes. Because these substrates are derived from C20 fatty acids, they are referred to as eicosanoids (Greek: eicosi = "twenty"). Even at very low concentrations, these mediators affect inflammation, fever, pain, clotting factors, blood pressure, blood lipids, vascular smooth muscle, the course of pregnancy, and immune responses. The biological effect of eicosanoids is very complex and still not fully understood. It is known, however, that they are instrumental in the formation of inflammable phenomena.

Prostaglandins are short-lived, locally acting growth hormones which are formed in almost all types of tissue. They have very versatile and sometimes even opposite effects. They affect blood pressure, blood clotting, and smooth muscle tissue. Some prostaglandins may exhibit effects which are therapeutically undesirable, such as prostaglandin PGE2, which is overexpressed in damaged tissue, where it causes, among other things, inflammatory responses and fever. By blocking the enzyme cyclooxygenase (COX), which is necessary for the production of prostaglandins, the formation of the prostaglandins can be inhibited. Acetyl-salicylic acid is used for this purpose. Prostacyclins are vasodilators which help prevent the aggregation of platelets and, thereby, thrombus formation.

Thromboxanes are the antagonists of prostacyclins. They promote blood clotting and support wound healing. In high concentrations, thromboxanes contribute to an increased risk of atherosclerosis, hypertension, and thrombosis. Leukotrienes act as mediators of inflammatory and allergic reactions for example by dilating blood vessels, increasing vascular permeability, and/or causing fever.

Dieticians can help

Because the eicosanoids, which are derived from arachidonic acid, have a particularly decisive influence on (or, in some cases, can trigger) inflammatory processes, changing to a vegetarian diet and thereby reducing the intake of arachidonic acid could pave the way to an optimal omega-6/omega-3 ratio. Adam et al. (2003) demonstrated that a reduction of arachidonic acid dietary intake in combination with nutritional supplementation of omega-3 fatty acids can have a positive influence on rheumatoid arthritis and immune response. The determination of the fatty acid status can support a customized nutritional advice generally below supplemented by omega-3 fatty acid effectively.  Generally, a healthy balance in fatty acids can be established through individual nutritional consultation, typically supplemented effectively by omega-3 fatty acids. 

Only 1-2 tablespoons daily!

For Dr. Budwig, there was only one significant omega-3 supplement: very carefully produced flax seed oil in its natural state, which she herself developed a method for manufacturing. "flax seed oil has at all times worked miracles."

Depending on age and level of physical activity - between 0.5 and 1.5 grams of omega-3 should be ingested daily. This amounts to about 15 ml of flax seed oil (a large tablespoon) for adults and 30 ml (two tablespoons of flax seed oil) for pregnant women and other persons with higher needs per day. For (seriously) ill patients, the requirement may be considerably lower than two tablespoons of flax seed oil per day. In this case, it is best to contact a Dr. Budwig consultant directly.

To top

Omega-3/Omega-6

Ein Ungleichgewicht zwischen Omega-3- und Omega-6-Fetten in der Ernährung kann einen Anstieg entzündungsauslösender Stoffe im Körper bewirken, die zur Entwicklung zahlreicher Zivilisationserkrankungen beitragen. Die Zusammenhänge zwischen bester Gesundheit und guter Versorgung des Körpers mit essentiellen Fettsäuren auf zellulärer Ebene stellte Dr. Johanna Budwig schon zu Beginn der 1950er Jahre dar. „Das Fehlen dieser hoch ungesättigten Fettsäuren führt viele Lebensfunktionen zum Erlahmen”, war eine oft getätigte Aussage der Wissenschaftlerin.

Omega-3-Tagesdosis

Täglich sollten – je nach Alter und körperlicher Aktivität – zwischen 0,5 und 1,5 Gramm Omega-3 aufgenommen werden. So empfiehlen es die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung (DGE), die Österreichische Gesellschaft für Ernährung (ÖGE) und die Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Ernährungswissenschaft (SGE) in einer gemeinsamen Richtlinie (DACH-Empfehlung).
Wer seinen Omega-3-Bedarf rein über pflanzliches Omega-3 decken möchte, muss umrechnen: Die meisten Empfehlungen zum Tagesbedarf beziehen sich auf die hochwirksamen Omega-3-Fettsäuren EPA und DHA. ALA wird im Körper aber nur zu zehn Prozent in die hochwirksamen Varianten umgewandelt, die Empfehlungen müssen also um den Faktor 10 multipliziert werden.
Wird zum Beispiel Leinöl als einzige Omega-3-Quelle genutzt, ergibt sich eine Tagesmenge von etwa 15 ml Leinöl (ein großer Esslöffel) für den Erwachsenen und 30 ml (zwei Esslöffel) für Schwangere und andere Personen mit erhöhtem Bedarf. Dabei ist wichtig zu wissen, dass eine exakte Dosierung nicht notwendig ist, da nicht genutztes Leinöl dem Fettstoffwechsel zugeführt wird und dann der Energiegewinnung dient.
Bis heute gibt es keinerlei Hinweise darauf, dass ein hoher Omega-3-Anteil bei der Fettaufnahme schädlich sein könnte, und Nebenwirkungen sind nicht bekannt.
Generell gilt allerdings: Der Gesamtfettverbrauch sollte höchstens 30 Prozent des täglichen Energiebedarfs ausmachen.

Umwandlung von Omega-3-Fettsäuren

Der Körper von Tier und Mensch kann eine Omega-3-Fettsäure in andere umwandeln. ALA muss mit der Nahrung aufgenommen werden und kann dann über Enzyme zu EPA und dann weiter zu DHA synthetisiert werden. Die letzte Reaktion ist umkehrbar. Hier schafft der Stoffwechsel ein gesundes Gleichgewicht. Zu etwa zehn Prozent wird die aufgenommene ALA im menschlichen Körper enzymatisch in die EPA und diese dann in die DHA umgewandelt. Die Synthese schließt eine zweimalige Verlängerung der Kohlenstoffkette um je zwei C-Atome und die mehrmalige Einführung einer Doppelbindung (Dehydrierung) ein.

Verhältnis der Fettsäuren entscheidend

Schon seit vielen Generationen verzehren Menschen Omega-3-Fette aus Fisch, Gemüse, Nüssen oder Ölsaaten. Unsere Gesundheit hängt buchstäblich von der regelmäßigen Zufuhr der lebensnotwendigen Omega-3- und Omega-6-Fettsäuren Alpha-Linolensäure (ALA) und Linolsäure (LA) ab. Der Körper benötigt diese Fettsäuren für die Bildung der Zellmembranen und für eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Stoffwechselfunktionen.

Im Allgemeinen enthält unsere heutige Ernährung deutlich mehr Omega-6- als Omega-3-Fettsäuren. Das reale Verhältnis liegt im Durchschnitt bei 20:1. Folgt man den Vorgaben der Natur, sollten Omega-6- zu Omega-3-Fettsäuren aber im Verhältnis 2:1 bis 5:1 aufgenommen werden. In der Muttermilch liegt es sogar bei 2:1 bis 1:1. Auch vor der Zeit von Massentierhaltung und industrieller Nahrungsmittelproduktion – als die Fettaufnahme nur über Öle, spezielle Gemüsesorten oder Fische möglich war – lag das Verhältnis bei ungefähr 2:1. Dass Omega-6-Fettsäuren im richtigen Verhältnis zu Omega-3-Fettsäuren aufgenommen werden sollte, ist aus mehreren Gründen wichtig:

1. Konkurrenz um die Enzyme
Aus der Omega-3-Familie braucht unser Körper sowohl ALA als auch EPA und DHA. Dabei muss nur ALA zwingend über die Nahrung aufgenommen werden. Aus ihr können dann enzymatisch die beiden anderen Fettsäuren synthetisiert werden. Das Problem: Die gleichen Enzyme, die für diese wichtige Synthese verantwortlich sind, verstoffwechseln auch die Omega-6-Fettsäuren. Es herrscht also sozusagen ein Konkurrenzkampf um die Enzyme, bei dem gilt: Je kleiner der Quotient Omega-6 zu Omega-3, desto größer wird die Chance, dass die wichtigen Zellmembranbausteine EPA und DHA synthetisiert werden können.

2. Ausgeglichene Konsequenzen
Vereinfacht gesagt werden Omega-6-Fettsäuren enzymatisch zu entzündungsfördernden Folgestoffen und Omega-3-Fettsäuren werden zu entzündungshemmenden Folgestoffen synthetisiert. Wenn beide Fettsäuren im richtigen Verhältnis zueinander aufgenommen werden, bedeutet dies auch, dass die Folgestoffe im ausgewogenen Verhältnis gebildet werden – eine wichtige Voraussetzung für eine optimale Zellgesundheit. Dieses chemische Gleichgewicht spielt eine Rolle bei: Koronarer Herzkrankheit, Arteriosklerose, Blutgerinnung, Blutdruckentwicklung, Diabetes, rheumatischen, entzündlichen und allergischen Prozessen.

Schlüssel zur Gesundheit
Die Folgen des Überhangs an Omega-6-Fettsäuren einerseits und der unzureichenden Zufuhr an Omega-3-Fettsäuren andererseits, können zu überschießenden Immunreaktionen wie z.B. chronischen Entzündungsreaktionen führen.
Verantwortlich für diese Reaktionen sind vermehrt gebildete hormonartige Stoffe: Prostaglandine, Prostazcycline, Thomboxane und Leucotriene. Da es sich um Abkömmlinge der C-20-Fettsäuren handelt, werden sie auch als Eicosanoide (griech. eicosi „zwanzig“) bezeichnet. Diese Mediatoren beeinflussen bereits in kleinsten Konzentrationen  Entzündungsprozesse, Fieber, Schmerzempfinden, Gerinnungsfaktoren, Blutdruck, Blutfette, Gefäßmuskulatur, Schwangerschaftsverlauf und Immunantworten. Die biologische Wirkung der Eicosanoide ist sehr komplex und noch nicht vollständig geklärt. Bekannt ist allerdings, dass sie maßgeblich an der Entstehung entzündlicher Phänomene beteiligt sind.
Prostaglandine sind kurzlebige, lokal wirkende Gewebshormone und werden in fast allen Geweben gebildet. Sie haben sehr vielseitige und zum Teil sogar gegensätzliche Wirkungen. Sie beeinflussen den Blutdruck, die glatte Muskulatur und die Blutgerinnung. Einige Wirkungen sind therapeutisch unerwünscht, wie z.B. die der Prostaglandine PGE2, die verstärkt in verletztem Gewebe produziert werden. Dort verursachen sie u.a. Entzündungsreaktionen und Fieber. Durch die Blockierung des Enzyms Cyclooxigenase (COX), das für die Herstellung von Prostaglandinen notwendig ist, kann die Bildung der Prostaglandine gehemmt werden. Acetyl-Salicylsäure wird zu diesem Zweck eingesetzt. Prostacycline erweitern die Blutgefässe und wirken dem Zusammenlagern der Blutplättchen entgegen. Sie beugen einer Thrombenbildung vor.
Thromboxane sind die Gegenspieler der Prostacycline. Sie fördern die Blutgerinnung und unterstützen die Wundheilung. In hoher Konzentration stellen Thromboxane ein erhöhtes Risiko für Arteriosklerose, Bluthochdruck und Thrombosen dar. Leukotriene wirken als Mediatoren entzündlicher und allergischer Reaktionen, indem sie u.a. die Blutgefäße erweitern, die Durchlässigkeit der Gefäße erhöhen und Fieber hervorrufen.

Ernährungsberatung kann helfen

Da vor allem die aus der Arachidonsäure gebildeten Eicosanoide das Entzündungsgeschehen entscheidend beeinflussen, bzw. auslösen, kann eine Reduzierung der Arachidonsäure durch eine vegetarisch ausgerichtete Ernährung unter Berücksichtigung des Omega-6-/Omega-3-Verhältnisses wegweisend sein. So bewiesen z.B. Adam et al. (2003), dass die ernährungstherapeutischen Maßnahmen einer AA-Reduzierung in der Ernährung und die zusätzliche Supplementierung über Omega-3-Fettsäuren die Immunreaktion bei rheumatoider Arthritis positiv beeinflussen können. Die Bestimmung des Fettsäurestatus kann eine individuell angepasste Ernährungsberatung in der Regel unter Ergänzung durch Omega-3-Fettsäuren wirksam unterstützen.

Nur 1-2 Esslöffel täglich!
Für Dr. Budwig gab es nur eine bedeutsame Omega-3-Ergänzung: naturbelassenes, äußerst schonend hergestelltes Leinöl, für dessen Herstellung sie ein eigenes Verfahren entwickelt hatte. „Leinöl hat zu allen Zeiten Wunder bewirkt.“  
Täglich sollten – je nach Alter und körperlicher Aktivität – zwischen 0,5 und 1,5 Gramm Omega-3 aufgenommen werden. Daraus ergibt sich eine Tagesmenge von etwa 15 ml Leinöl (ein großer Esslöffel) für den Erwachsenen und 30 ml (zwei Esslöffel Leinöl) für Schwangere und andere Personen mit erhöhtem Bedarf. Bei (Schwer-)Kranken kann der Bedarf deutlich über zwei EL Leinöl pro Tag liegen. In diesem Fall kontaktieren Sie am besten einen Dr. Budwig Berater.

Nach oben